HSO presents ‘Gershwin & West Side Story’

Venue: Mark C Smith Concert Hall

Music Director and Conductor:
Gregory Vajda

Guest Artists:
Gilles Vonsattel, piano

BernsteinSlava!, A Political Overture
GershwinPiano Concerto in F
StravinskySymphony in Three Movements
BernsteinSymphonic Dances from West Side Story
The HSO celebrates Leonard Bernstein’s centenary with his Slava! Overture and the fantastically catchy Symphonic Dances from West Side Story. New York-based pianist Gilles Vonsattel, praised by the Miami Herald for his “dazzling technique,” plays Gershwin’s bluesy Piano Concerto in F. The program is rounded out by Stravinsky’s colorful Symphony in Three Movements, which recalls the rhythms of The Rite of Spring.


$41 - $72